Today's Posts
Calendar
FAQ
Korea Links
Weather
Train Schedule
Korea Travel
Climbs by Province
Jeju-Do Jeollanam-Do Jeollabuk-Do Gyeongseongnam-Do Gyeongsangbuk-Do Chungcheongbuk-Do Chungcheongnam-Do Gyeonggi-Do Gangwon-Do Province
User Name Password
Calendar | Register | Lost Password?

Go Back   KOTR Forums > Climbing > Climbing Chat

Unread 04-26-2006, 10:05 PM
Rockboy

Lightbulb Wearing Helmets Saves Lives!!! (April 26th 2006)

In General, it seems like sport climbers have some unnatural death wish. They almost never wear helmets!
I've been climbing for 12-15 years and in that time have seen many injury's due to helmet less climbers either being hit by falling rock and debris, falling themselves or just plain stupidity.

I used to refuse to climb with people if they didn't wear a helmet (trying to get Bernnie to buy one at the moment. But he's a stubborn Austrian, so no progress as yet!). One, now good friend, thanked me for saving his life because of it. It's common sense, rocks fall and gravity hurts.

I know what your thinking, but rocks never fall on sport climbs right? Sure they do all the time. Particularly if there's top access and someone knocks one off. I once pulled a huge flake off (the crux move ) a sport climb, almost killing my belayer I had a rock hit me on the head 2 weeks ago in Ganhyeon and helmet less Bernnie just shrugged his shoulders!

I realise people will say this is personal preference, but don't ask to come trad climbing with me without one.

Your life, Your brain, Use it! (Sorry for the serious note, this is my pet gripe!)
Ph:010-5505-5065
Unread 04-26-2006, 11:18 PM
peace